The Prophet, the Shepard and the Star by Jenny L. Cote

Young Llama Thoughts
  • Adventurous
  • Christian Friendly
  • Easy Reading
  • Humerous
  • Youth Appropriate
4.8 Llamas


Long story short, your amazing Young Llama Reader asked me to review my favorite series. So, here we are again talking about the best historical fiction books I know. Epic Order of the Seven. Like I’ve said before, I love this series. It really pulls you back in time and gives you the history experience like never before. Every time I read these books I am always amazed at what I learn. This is the best series ever.

Today, I’m reviewing the 3rd book in the series. The Prophet, the Shepherd, and the Star. This wonderful book is three stories in one. The animals have been waiting for their next mission and are placed with the prophet Isaiah. While there, they see this incredible man prophecy on the one person who can save the world. A small baby who would come in 700 years. After Isaiah, they have to wait several years for another man to come. One who would one day face lions. Daniel. They travel with Daniel through his life and help lead him to where God’s will can be fulfilled, while they protect him from a few big cats. Then, in their final journey, the animals are split up once again and placed with two people who would raise the Savior of the world. In the story they have to face dangers and trials. Including a prowling lion that is out for the new king.

Overall, amazing story and it’s technically a Christmas one too. Maybe someone could ask for it for the holidays. I totally recommend this book and the series to everyone I know, especially if you’re a history lover like me. It’s great for families and perfect for learning with some adventure to keep the kids into it. So, if you are looking for a book, Get This One!!! You won’t regret it. Hope you liked my review. -The Tiger Reader


  • Great adventure
  • Educational
  • Fun Charcters
  • Um….. Jesus’ birth


  • I have none. (Sorry.)

With this new, critical mission, the team will finally be completed by Messiah and known forevermore as the Order of the Seven. A talking, musical scroll, a pigeon-flyingand-camel-driving mouse, a writing cat, a courageous lamb, and two lion-fighting dogs provide non-stop action in this adventure that brings the Christmas story to life as never before. You will be astounded at the accuracy and perfection of the prophecies and God’s unfolding plan to bring Jesus into the world.
The seven hundred–year mission begins long before the Nativity, as animal friends Max, Liz, Al, Kate, and Nigel work with Isaiah, who prophesies about the coming Messiah. The team intervenes with the Assyrians that threaten to take Jerusalem and prove Isaiah’s prophecies false. They go with faithful Daniel and friends into the Babylonian captivity for the heart-pounding thrills of the fiery furnace and the lions’ den. They meet Gabriel as he appears to Daniel, and hide a secret scroll of prophecy for the wise men to someday discover as they study the Star. The book climaxes with the unfolding Christmas story as the animals once again see Gabriel with Zechariah, Mary, Joseph, and the shepherds.

Was this post helpful?