The Ark, the Reed, and the Fire Cloud by Jenny L. Cote

Young Llama Thoughts
  • Adventurous
  • Christian Friendly
  • Easy Reading
  • Humerous
  • Youth Appropriate
4.8 Llamas


This is the best historical fiction series on the Planet!!! (Ok, I don’t know if that’s true.) I love these books. Honestly, I’ve read them five to six times, and every time I do I still laugh, cry, and hug the book. (I’m not weird if that’s what you’re thinking. I just really love this series.)

The Epic Order of the Seven is about these animals that are, I don’t want to say angels; they’re more like agents. (Yeah! Agents for God) These “agents” travel through history and assist famous people on earth. They help Noah, Joseph, Isaiah, George Washington. Really everyone. Now I do need you to understand this; I don’t believe there were any orange tom cats with Daniel in the Lions Den. (Sorry.) But this series is so amazing. It really gives you an interesting view of people in history. I have learned so much from this series and I am constantly rereading them.

I honestly find no fault in these books, except, it is historical fiction, not everything true. (Especially the dog walking on the water with Jesus.) But this series is the perfect historical fiction story for the family. You could totally read this with your family if you’re looking for another Narnia experience. This series is perfect for everyone. (In my opinion.) Do to take note that it is history and some parts of our background were rough.  But hey! Without our history, we wouldn’t be here today.

I highly suggest these books to everyone. (I love The Epic Order of the Seven!!!) Hope you liked my review. -The Tiger Reader


  • It gives you an amazing view on history
  • It’s entertaining
  • Great series for families


  • It’s not real… there was no talking dogs in the Bible… GET OVER IT!!!,h_512,al_c,q_80,usm_0.66_1.00_0.01/ba1c8d_604584d675714a0d8ed1755e6bedc362.webpWit, Whimsy, Heartache, Tragedy, Triumph and Biblical Truth A magical adventure of animals traveling worldwide to Noah’s ark Max, a Scottish terrier, takes his usual morning trot down to the loch where he hears a mysterious Voice humming in the reeds saying, “COME TO ME . . .
FOLLOW THE FIRE CLOUD.” He embarks on an unknown journey from Scotland, meeting other animals along the way including Liz, a brilliant, petite black cat from France. Max and Liz become the brave leaders for their group, and eventually, for the entire ark. The mysterious journey, filled with danger, humor, trials, and triumphs, leads them across Europe to the Middle East.
The moment of arrival for these animals is spectacular as the ark is miraculously transformed into the animals’ natural habitats.
Throughout the prior one hundred years, Noah and family have to endure ridicule from villagers while building the ark. Now this family must painfully witness the loss of lives and total destruction of the earth through the mighty flood.
After the journey to the ark, the voyage in the ark begins. Liz finds ways to keep the animals occupied, including daily exercise led by the flamingos and talent night where the animals entertain each other with their natural abilities. BUT a sinister plot develops. Someone is out to kill Noah and his family. Liz follows clues that lead her to discover a stowaway who has deceived them all. Max and Liz foil the plot, but at a high price.

Was this post helpful?