A Series of Unfortunate Events book 6: The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket

Young Llama Thoughts
  • Adventurous
  • Christian Friendly
  • Easy Reading
  • Humerous
  • Youth Appropriate
Overall
4.6 Llamas

Review

So, I have fallen in love with this series! This is the 6th book in the series and I can’t wait to read the rest!!!! (Thank you Callie, Claire and Sophie for letting me borrow these awesome books!!!!!!!!!)

These books are about these 3 siblings who lost their parents in a fire and are now trying to find their new home. But every place they go more disaster follows and they have the evil Count Olaf following their every move trying to steal their family fortune…

The book was awesome; and has more twists and turns with every chapter! There is some violence, kids being kidnapped, being shoved down elevator shafts… Some violence but not described. It is also a very sarcastic funny book. Like how everything in the book is described very sarcastic and funny!

Over all, LOVE!!!  Totally suggest!!!! Read right now and have an amazing day!!!! -The Young Llama Reader.

Pros

  • Humorous in a sarcastic kind-of way.
  • A VERY good series for kids and teens!

Cons

  • Some violence and kidnapping.

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I’m sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe.

In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket’s uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.

Was this post helpful?