The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy by Jeanne Birdsail

Young Llama Thoughts
  • Adventurous
  • Christian Friendly
  • Easy Reading
  • Humerous
  • Youth Appropriate
Overall
4.7 Llamas

Review

Oh my goodness is this book fabulous!!! I am obsessed, I loved the entire book and couldn’t put it down! (Thanks Sophie for such a great b-day gift!) This book is truly such a fabulous read and would be great for girls 7 and up!

This book is about 4 sisters spending the summer in a beautiful cottage on a beautiful estate! Rosalind, the eldest, is excited about a summer of relaxation and possibly the cute gardener next door. Skye can’t wait to explore the grounds but keeps running into the annoying owners son. Jane has big plans to finish her next book but needs a little inspiration. And Batty just wants to see all the fun animals around! However, trouble seems to find them no matter how hard they try. But the 4 sisters are determined to fix their mistakes and save their summer with the help of 2 bunnies, 1 dog and Jeffrey their new best friend!

This novel was fantastic! I loved the adventure, the characters were adorable, the story line was so well written and the book was just great! There is such a good focus in the book on family and friends that it is perfect for girls 7 and up! The kids get into a lot of mischief that just makes the novel so funny!

Now my only ‘con’ with the book is the estate owner doesn’t like the Penderwick’s and says some very rude things about them. The only one that I would warn you about is a line about Rosalind chasing after a boy, and one day a boy may allow himself to get caught to end her innocence. That is mostly what it says, nothing else is described but some kids may be confused. I personally see no problem with the line. Yes, it’s a horrible thing to say, but it’s not inappropriate.

Overall, this book is soooooo good! Totally suggest it to young girls looking for a fun, up-lifting read on friendship and family! (I can’t wait to read book 2!) I hope you all have a Book-Filled Day! -The Young Llama Reader.

Pros

  • Such an amazing book for kids!!!
  • Great novel for girls 7 and up!
  • Funny, heartwarming and totally fabulous!!!

Cons

  • Some people say rude things…
This series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. Over one million copies sold, now with a bright new look!

This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful surprise: a holiday on the grounds of a beautiful estate called Arundel. Soon they are busy discovering the summertime magic of Arundel’s sprawling gardens, treasure-filled attic, tame rabbits, and the cook who makes the best gingerbread in Massachusetts. But the best discovery of all is Jeffrey Tifton, son of Arundel’s owner, who quickly proves to be the perfect companion for their adventures.

The icy-hearted Mrs. Tifton is not as pleased with the Penderwicks as Jeffrey is, though, and warns the new friends to stay out of trouble. Which, of course, they will—won’t they? One thing’s for sure: it will be a summer the Penderwicks will never forget.

Deliciously nostalgic and quaintly witty, this is a story as breezy and carefree as a summer day.

Was this post helpful?

1721488917