The RavenWood Saga series by Morgan L. Busse

Young Llama Thoughts
  • Adventurous
  • Christian Friendly
  • Easy Reading
  • Humerous
  • Youth Appropriate
3.2 Llamas


This is a series that I read last year that I forgot about, read again and remembered how much I loved it! (I mean who wouldn’t love a book about gifted people in a land of mystery and war of light vs. darkness with assassins that sneak into people’s dreams and kill them?!?)

This series is about a young women gifted with the gift of Dreams who’s family has turned it into an assassination plot against the other gifted houses of their land; and is also about a young man learning to control his own gift of protection and water while trying to bring peace to their war-torn land. Both on a journey to find out the true secret of their past and possibly find the hope for their futures together, but uncertain if they can do it before it’s too late…

These 3 books are amazing!!! They have Narnia like magic with the “gifts” of their land, but are unique in their own way as well! The books are adventurous, romantic, and Christian-friendly with mention of The Light uniting the lands and a Dark Lady threatening the peace. (Though I would like to say, I have never read a Christian book where the villain sounds like a female Satan… Weird right?)

These books do have some violence. People are killed in their dreams, stabbed, shot, some drown rather violently. There is mention of blood, burns, wounds and such. Nothing is graphically described but some parts are mentioned a bit more in detail. There is also some adult topics in the books. Mention of people being hurt, women being ‘aped and stuff that happens in marriage. Nothing ever described just mentioned, but it does make these books for young ladies 18 and up!

Over all, this series is one that I very much suggest and one that I can’t wait to re-read again! I just love the adventure, action and mystery throughout the entire series and I hope you all love it too! Later my Llamaings! -The Young Llama Reader.


  • A very well written series!
  • Christian-friendly!!!
  • A very good book for young ladies 18 and up!


  • Not a kids series…
  • Mentions of violence and adult topics…

Lady Selene is the heir to the Great House of Ravenwood and the secret family gift of dreamwalking. As a dreamwalker, she can enter a person’s dreams and manipulate their greatest fears or desires. For the last hundred years, the Ravenwood women have used their gift of dreaming for hire to gather information or to assassinate.

As she discovers her family’s dark secret, Selene is torn between upholding her family’s legacy–a legacy that supports her people–or seeking the true reason behind her family’s gift.

Her dilemma comes to a head when she is tasked with assassinating the one man who can bring peace to the nations, but who will also bring about the downfall of her own house.

One path holds glory and power, and will solidify her position as Lady of Ravenwood. The other path holds shame and execution. Which will she choose? And is she willing to pay the price for the path chosen?

Was this post helpful?