The Simple Art of Flying by Cory Leonardo

Young Llama Thoughts
  • Adventurous
  • Christian Friendly
  • Easy Reading
  • Humerous
  • Youth Appropriate
Overall
4.7 Llamas

Review

“Sniff!!!” Awww!!!! This book was just beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don’t even know how to describe how much I adored it. It is clean, kid-friendly, teen-friendly, and such a beautiful read! And it’s about parrots! I’m in love!

This book is about 2 siblings growing up in a pet shop. There parrots, but not any parrots. African Grey Parrots. Alastair has been dreaming of escaping since he was a hatchling, while Aggie, his little sister, couldn’t be happier in her home. When they get adopted by different people, Alastair starts plotting his escape to free his sister. But he will have to chose between his book eating, cherry-loving home and the chance to fly free.

I LOVED this book!!!! It was just soooooo beautiful. There aren’t really any cons in it; but Alastair does pluck his feathers. (Including a blood feather at one point. But it isn’t too described.) Other than that. This bird’s journey is beautiful….. With his poetry, expressive voice and story, you can’t not fall in love with this bird!

Over all, a must read for kids, teens, and adults. This would also be a great book for a class to read together! (Hint Hint!) Or a family, or by yourself! Have an amazing day, and may your dreams and imagination take flight! -The Young Llama Reader.

Pros

  • A wonderful book about love!
  • Beautiful for kid s and teens!
  • Sniff! Its amazing!!!!!!!

Cons

  • The bird plucks his feathers too much.

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot of heart in a story about the true meaning of family.

Sometimes flying means keeping your feet on the ground…

Born in a dismal room in a pet store, Alastair the African grey parrot dreams of escape to bluer skies. He’d like nothing more than to fly away to a palm tree with his beloved sister, Aggie. But when Aggie is purchased by twelve-year-old Fritz, and Alastair is adopted by elderly dance-enthusiast and pie-baker Albertina Plopky, the future looks ready to crash-land.

In-between anxiously plucking his feathers, eating a few books, and finding his own poetic voice, Alastair plots his way to a family reunion. But soon he’s forced to choose between the life he’s always dreamed of and admitting the truth: that sometimes, the bravest adventure is in letting go.

Was this post helpful?